Reviews



Birthday trips - Rating 5/5

Excellent location to walk to the Historic dockyard and other naval attractions. Also to the shopping outlet and restaurants. Great room and breakfast. Staff couldn\'t have been more friendly and helpful. Bit of a heatwave but we had a fan in the room which helped.

Reviewer:Carole Barber | Sat 3rd Jun 2017


Great location, superb staff. - Rating 5/5

The location was what originally drew us to The Ship Leopard, it was easy walking distance to everything that we planned on seeing. Our room had a nice view of the water and HMS Warrior. I was initially concerned because that meant we also faced a bus depot and the train station, but even with the window open there was very little noise. The room was clean, comfortable and well appointed. The bath and shower were both very nice and the bed was firm and extremely comfortable. My highest praise is reserved for the staff:friendly helpful and attentive, they make The Ship Leopard the perfect choice for a stay in Portsmouth. We will be visiting Portsmouth again in the future and The Ship Leopard will be our first choice for accommodations. We both would highly recommend without reservation.

Reviewer:Mr. Rhett Paulson | Thu 1st Jun 2017


Perfect location to discover Portsmouth - Rating 5/5

Stayed for 5 nights at this hotel whilst visiting \'Pompey\' for family occasion. It is the perfect location to discover Portsmouth if you want the museums, shopping and restaurants on the Gunwharf. Ideal location for any onward travelling or visiting further afield, with bus and train links on the doorstep. Hotel itself was excellent - clean, well appointed rooms, friendly staff and lovely breakfast - would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:John Dick | Wed 31st May 2017


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay at the ship leopard hotel.we had a beautiful superior room overlooking the Solent.Everything was perfect including the breakfast.Woukd definitely stay there again.

Reviewer:Carol Norton | Sun 28th May 2017


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

One of the best hotels I have stayed at. The room was decorated very well and the bed was very comfortable. Staff couldnt do enough for you and the full breakfast was really good. Perfectly situated close to the harbour and qun wharf.

Response

Thank you Mr. Barber, we are happy your stay with us was good and that all staff were attentive. We are pleased you enjoyed our breakfast service and are over the moon you consider us \'one of the best hotels you\'ve stayed at\' thats a fab review for us, thank you from the whole Ship Leopard team!

Reviewer:James Barber | Mon 22nd May 2017


A Night in Portsmouth - Rating 5/5

A smart, clean, modern room with excellent bed linen and luxury towels, equipped with an excellent shower. Very high quality cooked breakfast;friendly and efficient staff. I would certainly return.

Response

Thank you Mr. Wakefield for your kind comments! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and are glad you like our rooms and breakfast!

Reviewer:Mr. David Wakefield | Mon 22nd May 2017


Return visit - Rating 5/5

This was our second stay, and we will no doubt return again.The hotel\'s location is excellent;and we find the comfortt, food, and standards of service to our liking.

Response

We are pleased to hear your comments and glad you keep returning. We hope to accommodate you again soon! Remember to book direct and we can take 10% off the rates at that time for you. Look forward to welcoming you back!

Reviewer:Mr D Aldridge | Mon 22nd May 2017


Excellent small hotel with caring staff - Rating 5/5

I stayed for 2 nights while visiting Portsmouth\'s historic naval dockyard. The location was perfect. The welcome and staff service was exceptionally good. The room well equipped, spacious and comfortable bed with modern bathroom. No complaints and pleased to recommend to any traveller wanting good quality and good price. Thanks for a good visit.

Reviewer:Robert Enos | Sun 21st May 2017


Excellent location and very good service - Rating 5/5

I stayed for 2 nights while visiting Portsmouth\'s historic naval dockyard. The location was perfect. The welcome and staff service was exceptionally good. The room well equipped, spacious and comfortable bed with modern bathroom. No complaints and pleased to recommend to any traveller wanting good quality and good price. Thanks for a good visit.

Response

Wow, what a great review to see and read! Thank you very much from all the team! We hope you will spread the word for us and we\'ll look forward to your return!

Reviewer:Robert Enos | Sat 20th May 2017


Portsmouth Harbour - Rating 5/5

Nice staff, food, perfect parking & location Portsmouth Harbour now fabulous.

Response

Thank you Mr. Martin for your kind comments, we hope to see you again!

Reviewer:David Martin | Fri 19th May 2017


Stay at The Ship Leopard - Rating 5/5

Excellent young staff, lovely room, excellent location and breakfastDownside - back room noisy from 0600 hrs due to street cleaners - you can\'t have everything!

Reviewer:Roger Selman | Fri 19th May 2017


One night stay - Rating 5/5

An excellent hotel, so handy for the Portsmouth Historic Dockland, right on the doorstep. Comfortable room, excellent breakfast. Highly recommend

Response

We appreciate your kind comments and are happy you enjoyed your visit. We hope you stay with us again in the future!

Reviewer:Joan Kelly | Fri 12th May 2017


Two night stay - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay at this very welcoming hotel. The room was clean, quiet and very comfortable. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The location was ideal for our purposes being just two minutes from the Historic Dockyard, and a few minutes walk from Gunwharf Quays.

Response

Hope to see you again, thank you for all your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay!

Reviewer:Derek Lee | Fri 12th May 2017


Very comfortable and perfectly located - Rating 4/5

We found this hotel ideally situated for the Portsmouth Harbour train station and the historic dockyard - as well as being only a short walk from the Gunwharf Quays and a range of eateries. The staff were all very attentive to our needs and we were very comfortable in our room. The shower is great! We would stay there again if making a return visit.

Response

Thank you for staying at our hotel, we hope to see you again!

Reviewer:Linda MacDonald | Wed 10th May 2017


- Rating 5/5

Reviewer:| Tue 2nd May 2017


- Rating 5/5

Reviewer:| Tue 2nd May 2017


First Class Stay - Rating 5/5

We were back for a return visit to this great little hotel right near the Historic Dockyard. This time we stayed in gorgeous Room 15, which is really nice. The room is spacious and comfortable and the bathroom is to die for!We loved the view of HMS Warrior from the window and enjoyed watching the many boats coming and going. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the young staff very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was very nice. We\'d definitely stay again!

Response

We are so happy you keep returning and love Room 15 just as much as we do! Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to accommodate you again! :)

Reviewer:Mrs. Linda Hajdini-Allen | Mon 1st May 2017


Revisiting the Dockyard - Rating 5/5

Excellent location, really enjoyed our short trip and so pleased with the hitel. Excellent

Response

We are really glad you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you again! Thank you for your comments.

Reviewer:Jennifer Laud | Thu 27th Apr 2017


Comfort and Convenience - Rating 5/5

We have used the Ship Leopard 3 or 4 times now as a one-night stopover before taking the morning ferry home to Guernsey. It is exactly what is required. A very friendly and helpful young staff, clean, well-decorated and spacious rooms, proximity to Gunwharf Quay shopping mall and a 10 minute drive to the Ferry Terminal all combining to make it our ideal choice in Portsmouth.

Response

Thank you for your review, we are so happy you choose to stay with us! Glad you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again soon! :)

Reviewer:Alan Cross | Sat 22nd Apr 2017


getaway - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyed the stay. The room was luvly, the staff were friendly and attentive and the breakfast was very enjoyable. This was our third visit and we intend to visit again soon. Thankyou

Response

We are so glad you continue to stay with us! Hope to see you again :)

Reviewer:Lisa Curran | Thu 20th Apr 2017


The Ship Leopard boutique Hotel- Rating 5/5

We stayed at The Ship Leopard on Saturday 15th Apriland the hotel was so nice and is in a great location just opposite the harbour . The bedroom was immaculate and the bed was really comfy. The hotel staff were really lovely , especially the 2 front of house girlsworking Saturday . The cooked breakfast was great too .Would love to stay again and highly recommend.

Response

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad your party enjoyed their visit with us, like wise you were a pleasure to have staying with us! We look forward to welcoming you back again! :-)

Reviewer:Teresa Moynan | Mon 17th Apr 2017


- Rating 5/5

Reviewer:| Mon 17th Apr 2017


Ship Leopard Hotel - Rating 5/5

Superb location. Very comfortable. Top marks.

Response

Thank you for your comments, we are glad your stay was comfortable! :-)

Reviewer:David Wright | Mon 10th Apr 2017


Review - Rating 5/5

Lovely stay..spotlessly clean, fresh deco and staff were fabulous x

Response

Thank you for your comments, we are happy your had a pleasant stay with us. The Whole team will look forward to welcoming you back again!

Reviewer:Chris Douglass | Sat 8th Apr 2017


Stop over - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast, would stay again

Reviewer:Diana Bennett | Fri 7th Apr 2017


5* - Rating 5/5

Thanks had a great stay. Room 15 was amazing, staff helpful and friendly, bed really comfortable, good location and very good breakfast, what more could you ask for.

Response

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and liked Room 15 just as much as we do! Look forward to welcoming you back again!

Reviewer:Ann Stanley | Sat 1st Apr 2017


Iconic view and very relaxed stay - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was very spacious, clean and looked out over the harbour. The hotel is very close to the Dockyard and Gun Wharf Quays. Breakfast was varied and all in all it was very good value.

Reviewer:Rowena Stark | Wed 29th Mar 2017


Long weekend visiting Hijstoric Dockyards. - Rating 5/5

We were highly delighted with our room. It was spacious comfortable and beautifully furnished. We really loved the view from our bedroom window overlooking the Warrior and the Spinnaker Tower. It could not have been better. We travelled down with friends and had a fantastic time in Portsmouth. All of the staff in the hotel were helpful and friendly. I honestly could not fault the service we had and I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to anyone.

Response

Thank you for your comments, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will see you and your friends again for another break in Portsmouth!

Reviewer:Culmer | Tue 28th Mar 2017


Weekend stay - Rating 5/5

2nd visit to this small but excellent hotel, ideal location for visiting gunwharf and the naval bases. the young front of house staff were a credit to the Hotel, always helpful with a friendly smile. Will be back next year.

Response

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you continue to book with us! We will all look forward to accommodating you again :-)

Reviewer:Andrew Wiliiams | Mon 27th Mar 2017


Review - Rating 5/5

Lovely stay..spotlessly clean, fresh deco and staff were fabulous x

Reviewer:Chris Douglass | Sun 26th Mar 2017


Fantastic- Rating 5/5

Rooms are Beautifull, staff are very helpfull excellent location and nice views, cant wait to stay again. Try the Master Suite it will blow you away.

Reviewer:Stephen Cameron | Sun 26th Mar 2017


Location excellent- Rating 4/5

Ideal place to stay convenient to train station and Portsmouth historic dockyard.

Reviewer:Yvonne Kevany | Sat 25th Mar 2017


Great little hotel - Rating 5/5

Fantastic location, staff excellent, breakfast to die for. Definately stay again when next in Portsmouth

Reviewer:Thomas Whittaker| Sat 25th Mar 2017


Weekend in Portsmouth - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed our stay, the staff were very welcoming, the room was comfortable and the location extremely good.We will be coming back.

Reviewer:Delyth eastabrook| Mon 20th Mar 2017


Lovely hotel - Rating 5/5

The staff were friendly, the room was clean and spacious and had plenty of space. The bathroom was nice as well, and lovely breakfast. Appreciated the jelly beans in the room too

Reviewer:Catherine Paxton | Mon 20th Mar 2017


Lovely Hotel! - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel! Staff polite and welcoming, food was good and value for money. Room very clean and comfortable. Decorated to a high standard. The location is perfect and the views from the bedroom were great. We would definitely recommend this hotel to friends. We had a very enjoyable stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. Claire Scott | Sun 19th Mar 2017


Lovely hotel with friendly, efficient service. - Rating 5/5

Lovely historic hotel with contemporary style within. The staff are welcoming and provide efficient service. The breakfast is cooked fresh and there is a good choice of continental pastries and cereals. Location is perfect for exploring the south coast being close to ferries and public transport. Even though our room was located overlooking the railway station and Gosport ferry, the room was quiet and we had a good night\'s sleep.

Reviewer:Paul Amey | Sat 18th Mar 2017


Excellent hotel - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed our stay at the hotel very much. The staff were very personable, our room was very nice. Will definitely return.

Reviewer:Karen Herriott | Wed 15th Mar 2017


Sightseeing break - Rating 5/5

Absolutely loved our stay here, staff very friendly, our room was fab with a view of the Hms warrior, breakfast was superb, definitely will recommend to others & hopefully come back one day

Reviewer:Katrina Massey | Mon 13th Mar 2017


Definitely recomend - Rating 5/5

Definitely recomend this hotel Clean very helpfull staff good breakfaat Will syay again here if in the area

Reviewer:Hughes Trevor | Mon 16th Jan 2017


Relaxing break - Rating 5/5

Great location for the historic docksfantatsic staff & breakfastWill come back

Reviewer:Andrew Booth | Mon 9th Jan 2017


Ship Leopard the Hard - Rating 4/5

Great location excellent accomodation and breakfast good staff a nice stay would stay again if we\'re down this way.

Reviewer:Mr. robert england | Wed 4th Jan 2017


the ship leopard boutique hotel - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay, staff very friendly andhelpful and the room was immaculately clean. Very comfortable bed. location was fantastic for the quays and dockyard. Breakfast was good with a wide choice. would definitely stay again

Reviewer:Shaun Watts | Wed 4th Jan 2017


Short break - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable for one night ideal for the train and Isle of White ferry, we were not very keen on music playing all the time but that is an age thing overall good

Reviewer:Jean Curtis | Wed 4th Jan 2017


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

What a wonderful hotel with friendly staff, beautiful bedrooms, everything is exceptionally clean and in excellent condition. We stayed for 2 nights and the breakfasts were really good on both days, nothing lacking.Thoroughly recommend this hotel which is on a great location.

Reviewer:james lloyd| Sun 1st Jan 2017


December trip - Rating 5/5

A very high quality renovated hotel in a great location with fantastic staff. Food was great as well.

Reviewer:Chris Coombs | Sun 1st Jan 2017


Location Perfect - Rating 4/5

Perfect for visiting Mary Rose, Victory, and Warrior and the Gun Wharf for shopping . Car park close by at reduced rate. Smart room. Excellent breakfast - especially tasty Lincolnshire sausage. We stayed for a function at the Mary Rose so we could walk back afterwards. Would definitely stay again in similar circumstances.

Reviewer:Michael Wilding | Sun 18th Dec 2016


Ship Hotel Portsmouth - Rating 0/5

This hotel was excellent value. Good decorative order throughout, clean and well maintained. Staff friendly.I particularly liked the ceiling fans in the dining room/lobby area. Only negative comment that applies to all inner city hotels is the lack of dedicated parking. The hotel (Keppel Hotel) had a dedicated car park which was largely empty throughout our stay - any chance of aparking arrangement?

Reviewer:Paul Rickard | Thu 14th Apr 2016


Portsmouth Birthday Weekend - Rating 5/5

As a young naval rating I used to frequent this establishment on a regular basis! So when we decided to visit Pompey, as we were looking for places to stay we came across this hotel. We weren\'t disappointed. Although the room was quite small it was comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful.The ssurroundings and decor of the whole hotel were beautiful. Will be staying again, and will be recommending it to friends and family. Thanks for making our stay so pleasurable.

Reviewer:Mr. Robert Coles | Thu 14th Apr 2016


Something a bit different but in a good way.... - Rating 5/5

Nothing but good things to say about this hotel. A smooth check in, Fantastic room with great veiws, tea and coffee in the room and one of the best full english breakfasts I have seen in any hotel made this a very special couple of days. It is also located close to great shopping at Gunwharfe Keys and the Cascade center as well as being really handy for the historic dockyards, complete with HMS Victory. For those travelling by car there is local parking and the bus and train stations are just as close if you are leaving the car at home. I can thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for something special. Great value in my opinion

Reviewer:Alan Helm | Mon 11th Apr 2016


A Welcome Surprise! - Rating 5/5

To the Management & StaffMy wife and I had planned a couple of days with an overnight stay to indulge ourselves at Gunwharf Quays, where we have visited previously. Finding the Ship Leopard was purely an adminsitrative task. Visiting the hotel was something else. Perfectly placed for our needs and beautifully decorated and appointed was the welcome surprise. Added to this was the welcoming staff, who all intended that we had a memorable stay. We will be back, soon! Thank you so much for a great short break experience. Ron & Karen

Reviewer:Ronald Faulds | Sun 10th Apr 2016


excellent - Rating 5/5

excellent room (number12)views of the spinnaker and warrior. v comfy bed spotless room great shower. friendly staff. excellent quality produce at breakfast. will stay again.

Reviewer:Claire Sellars | Wed 16th Mar 2016


Recent visit - Rating 5/5

This is a very comfortable hotel in an great location.The breakfast was excellent as was the service from all of the staff who were, without exception, pleasant and helpful.We would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:PAMELA MOWAT | Sat 12th Mar 2016


Delightful stay - Rating 5/5

Only one night, there with a group of friends to \'do\' the naval dockyard.Perfect position, clean, bright hole with charming, friendly and attentive staff.We all had a great time. Thank you

Reviewer:Paul Harrison | Fri 11th Mar 2016


Very nice hotel - Rating 5/5

Nice room, lovely view, great bathroom and very helpful staff.Perfectly situated for Gun Wharf Quays.

Reviewer:Ann Halpern | Mon 29th Feb 2016


Very cosy and fabulously appointed boutique hotel - Rating 5/5

Wow, what can I say, blown away from arrival.Very cosy and fabulously appointed and decorated hotel, impeccable.Cheap car parking deal at multi storey literally round the corner (£5 for 24 hours).Fantastic full English breakfast on morning of departure.The small but appropriately sized bar was well stocked and reasonably priced too.We had room 24 which I would thoroughly recommend to anyone, located on 2nd floor at the front of the hotel, for which 1 window overlooked HMS Warrior and the other the Spinnaker Tower, perfect setting and place to watch the sunset over the harbour too!

Reviewer:Carl Badcock | Mon 29th Feb 2016


Ship Leopard boutique hotel - Rating 5/5

Immaculate hotel and friendly staff

Reviewer:Deborah Meredith | Thu 25th Feb 2016


Very well run hotel - Rating 5/5

On first sight, looking at the info. Online about this hotel we initially thought it would be too \'glttsy\' for our usual hotel stays. However, on arrival, we were delighted to see how close it was to the dockyard and tha Spinnaker tower where my husband Ian was due to go to for a retirement party. The whole ambience of this hotel was warm and inviting with a wonderfull outrageous double wooden ceiling fan in the dining area and a very large glass clad model of a Jaguar cat above reception. There was a lift to aid our accent to our room on the first floor, everything was clean and working with a great shower ( unusual these days) and clean modern decor. I wouldn\'t hesite to stay there again on our next visit to Portsmouth.

Reviewer:David John Lewis | Mon 22nd Feb 2016


The ship leopard boutique- Rating 5/5

Very very surprised and delighted.The hotel was clean smelt lovely and decorated perfectly. The staff were very nice and perlite. I would recommend this hotel to anybody who wants to stay in Portsmouth. We will be staying again. Thank you.

Reviewer:Allen Mitchell | Sat 20th Feb 2016


married couple - Rating 5/5

we had such a nice stay and the rooms and staff where so nice we will be back in june

Reviewer:Susan Pharo | Tue 9th Feb 2016


The Ship Leopard, Portsmouth - Rating 5/5

Lovely Hotel, great location for Dockyard, Spinnaker,Shopping etc. Lovely room looking out to the harbour.Excellent breakfast and friendly staff. I would recommend.Oh, and car parking is £5 per day just across the road.great

Reviewer:Mark Fowler | Mon 8th Feb 2016


Very clean,perfect location - Rating 5/5

Lovely boutique hotel,nice clean room,quiet compact but everying you need. Perfect location, very friendly staff, excellent breakfast

Reviewer:Patricia Lynn Granby | Fri 5th Feb 2016


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

Fabulous stay. Loved being back in Pompey and what better place to stay at. Great staff and very efficient. The room was cozy, overlooking the harbour and it was great waking up in such a comfy bed. Would certainly recommend my friends and family.

Reviewer:Futhie Kunene | Mon 25th Jan 2016


Lovey staying. Beautiful city - Rating 5/5

Over impressed with the staying at The Ship Leopard one night single room. Listed facade and really modern done up facilities, helpful staff especially the night porter. Can\'t wait to come back and see more of the city

Reviewer:Nelu Manolache | Fri 22nd Jan 2016


Warm welcome - Rating 5/5

We traveled by train and this hotel is a short walk from the station and very close to the ships that we had come to see. also very near is Gunwharf which is an amazing shopping centre. We will definitely return,The hotel is bright clean very comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Reviewer:JANET ROXBURGH | Tue 19th Jan 2016


Fab find! - Rating 5/5

Lovely little hotel in a prime location by Gunwharf Quay....excellent service and gorgeous room with lovely comfy bed....oooo and the breakfast was yummy!!Would recommend...

Reviewer:Matthew Stevens | Mon 18th Jan 2016


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

Great facilities satff and location

Reviewer:Warwick Isaacs | Sat 9th Jan 2016


Best Hotel in Portsmouth!- Rating 5/5

I\'ve stayed in a large number of hotels across the globe and this is my favourite. Yes, the best room was more than what you would normally spend, however it was was 100% worth it. The gent on reception at the time was a absolute pleasure, he went well out of his way to assist in a few special request, whatever he\'s being paid, it\'s not enough!

Reviewer:Simon Wilson | Thu 7th Jan 2016


Value for Money - Rating 5/5

Couldnt have chosen better ticked every box staff very friendly and cafe quaint.Room was amazing as was view. Will be back for anniversary or other special occasion.

Reviewer:Dean Measey | Fri 1st Jan 2016


Very Plesent stay - Rating 5/5

great location, friendly staff, nice room and excellent breakfast

Reviewer:Steven Ponsford | Wed 30th Dec 2015


fantastic time - Rating 5/5

Loved,loved the room and brekki, especially the sausages :)

Reviewer:Joe Mccarten | Fri 25th Dec 2015


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Really clean. Staff very helpful. would definitely return.

Reviewer:Robert MCgill | Thu 26th Nov 2015


A nice change! - Rating 5/5

A hotel with a personal touch and great breakfast. Perfect for gunwharf quay shopping and opposite the historical docks.Great size room with a comfortable bed.

Reviewer:Shaun Peters | Tue 24th Nov 2015


Accomodation weekend stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay. Helpful friendly staff, great English breakfast. Very clean room and comfy bed. We will be back.

Reviewer:Stanton | Mon 23rd Nov 2015


Fantastic place - Rating 5/5

Loved the decor the cleanliness and the atmosphere lovely weekend great breakfast as well our room was like brand new and the furnishings were first class if I have to come to Portsmouth again I would only want to stay here beats all,the chain hotels by a mile

Reviewer:Alfred Makein | Sun 22nd Nov 2015


Comfortable - Rating 4/5

Ship Leopard Wass good comfortable base on my trip to cool windy Portsmourh. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Reviewer:Anthony Ware | Sat 21st Nov 2015


Portsmouth break - Rating 4/5

Excellent location for historic dockyard and gunwharf quays. With clean, comfortable,well appointed rooms and helpful staff we would have no hesitation in booking again.

Reviewer:Christine Tout | Sat 21st Nov 2015


Perfect- Rating 5/5

Brilliant location, lovely clean room, very comfy bed, very freindly and welcoming staff, and a lovely breakfast will defiantly be back.

Reviewer:Robert Syer | Fri 20th Nov 2015


Pleasant Stay - Rating 5/5

This is a very comfortable hotel with a comfortable bed anda decent shower and very friendly staff. The included breakfast was good value and not pretentious. Close to transport links and shopping.

Reviewer:Mrs. Phillippa Kirkman | Thu 19th Nov 2015


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

booked this hotel for a last minute business trip and can say I thoroughly recommend staying here. Great location close to the harbour, rooms very contemporary and clean. Staff very well mannered and friendly. I would return again if in the area

Reviewer:Stuart Helm | Thu 12th Nov 2015


Great place to stay - Rating 4/5

Good place to stay in Portsmouth. Compact room is a bit small and no wardrobe, but we only stayed 1 night so no issues with that. The room was also a bit warm for november and had to keep the window open for the night. Room and bed is comfortable and I do like the decoration and the style of the hotel.The staff is really friendly and the English breakfast was great! Overall happy and I would stay there again if I have the chance.

Reviewer:Ainhoa Rodriguez | Fri 6th Nov 2015


EXCELLENT STAY - Rating 5/5

Just want to say what a fantastic stay I had with your hotel , I stayed 2 night and the rooms and hotel is to a high standard with spotless well maintained room beautifully done with so comfy beds .But what makes this hotel are the staff could not do enough for you !! becky and sophia the 2 girls in the day very lovely made my stay the best I haved stayed in a small hotel and thanks john for making me a nice hot chocolate late at night ,them 3 people alone are a credit to your hotel with warm smiles and so different to any other hotel I have stayed in ,please keep this up and I should see you near Christmas for shopping with my family for 2 days .Also in a great location for all what you want .... Big thanks keith

Reviewer:Wheeldon | Fri 6th Nov 2015


Nice place - Rating 4/5

Nice stay with friendly staff - only downside was the drilling over the road, out front from 7.30am - not the hotels fault, but would\'ve been nice to have been warned

Reviewer:Stephen Bushell | Fri 6th Nov 2015


Lovely Boutique Hotel - Rating 4/5

This hotel was a really pleasant surprise.The surrounding area is undergoing some major renovation work and doesn\'t look all that appealing at the moment however the hotel itself is lovely, modern, clean and bright.The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the breakfast was delicious.I really couldn\'t fault anything and it was very reasonably priced too.

Reviewer:Donna Dewar | Thu 5th Nov 2015


Good location for historic docks & gunwharf Quays - Rating 4/5

Compact but well appointed rooms, comfy bed, good shower.All areas were kept very clean and tidy.Breakfast was great.Ideal for a weekend break.Staff were helpful and pleasant.Would certainly stay here again.

Reviewer:Linda Harrison | Tue 3rd Nov 2015


short stay - Rating 4/5

Hotel was clean with friendly staff. The room was good with a view of the seafront/ spinnaker tower, ideal for a spot of shopping/bowling/eating with the Gunwarf quay a stone throw away. Minor issues the room was a little noisy late at night and the shower smelt a little musty. Breakfast was hearty but a little slow in arriving.

Reviewer:Ivor Facey | Mon 2nd Nov 2015


A delightful stay - Rating 4/5

We happened to come across this hotel whilst looking online. We were really looking for somewhere near to Gunwharf Quays that we could rest our heads. The location was excellent for this and the view out on to HMS Victory and the harbour was a bonus. The room inside the hotel was very good with the breakfast a real bonus. We wold definately come back and stay again. The only thing to improve upon was the fact that having paid to park the car in a nearby car park we were presented with a discount ticket for a different car park. This was a shame as there was no obvious detail about this on the booking confirmation and would have saved a little bit of money. All in all a very good place to stay though

Reviewer:Chris Fry | Fri 30th Oct 2015


Comfort & Convenience- Rating 5/5

Friendly helpful staff. Rooms comfortable and tasteful decor. Efficient bathrooms, super comfy bed,excellent breakfast. Perfect location for Gunwharf Quays, Historic dockyard and ferry to Gossport. Highly recommendedWill definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Laura Corbett Hassit | Wed 28th Oct 2015


Perfect for a business stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel, 2 minutes walk from Portsmouth Harbour station and local restaurants. Great staff, very clean and lovely rooms and nice breakfast.

Reviewer:Andrea Auburn | Tue 27th Oct 2015


Overnight Stay - Rating 3/5

We booked the suite here which was fabulous and could not be criticised as it was beautiful and the bathroom outstanding.The breakfast was excellent and staff friendly and helpful.Really sadly though the noise from the street was unbearable and we got very little sleep.Really needs triple glazing.

Reviewer:Heather Revitt | Mon 26th Oct 2015


We were made to feel very welcome. - Rating 4/5

Thank you for your welcome and help throughout our stay.We were sorry not to have three sea view rooms but the rooms were clean and the shower was great.Staff were always polite and helpful.We loved the location of your hotel and would recommend.

Reviewer:Katherine Daintith | Sat 24th Oct 2015


The Sip Leopard Hotel - Rating 5/5

We recently stayed for 2 nights. It was a lovely comfortable room, the breakfasts were great and the staff very friendly and helpful.

Reviewer:Foreman | Fri 23rd Oct 2015


I\'ll be coming back- Rating 4/5

I stayed due to its proximity to my office and gunwharf. Whilst my colleagues stay in the soulless Marriott I chose here and I\'m glad I did. Opposite Portsmouth Harbour train and minutes from gunwharf, it\'s the perfect location for everything you need -transports, eating, partying, shopping and the Tower thing! Friendly staff, boutique feel and price are factors that mean I\'ll be staying here in future

Reviewer:Richard Coles | Fri 16th Oct 2015


09/10/15 - Rating 5/5

A warm and friendly hotel, with a speedy check in. The staff were both helpful and knowledgeable. Thoroughly recommended.

Reviewer:Andrew Marrow | Sun 11th Oct 2015


Fab hotel - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay.The staff were very friendly and helpful.Breakfast was delicious! The room and bathroom were lovely.I would suggest, however, that a hairdryer is provided in the room.Thank you for a really lovely stay, and we will certainly be staying with you again, and recommending you.We\'ve given you a glowing review requested by booking.com!

Reviewer:Norman Pounds | Sun 11th Oct 2015


lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Beautiful room, friendly staff, great location

Reviewer:Peter Copp | Thu 1st Oct 2015


Room was great and perfect location- Rating 4/5

Enjoyed our stay, room very comfortable .Would return again

Reviewer:Sharon Serdiuk | Tue 25th Aug 2015


Great Hotel- Rating 5/5

Lovely, very modern and well decorated clean hotel. Great location, and staff very helpful and friendly. Booking a longer stay in 2016. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Reviewer:Heather Feetham | Tue 25th Aug 2015


Daughters wedding - Rating 5/5

I booked three rooms for my daughters wedding, and we were more than satisfied with the rooms and the service. I would have no hesitation making future bookings.Many thanks

Reviewer:Birkett | Mon 24th Aug 2015


Great overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Ideally located.We were attending a wedding on HMS Warrior travelling by train and the hotel was easy walking distance between both.Staff very friendly and helpful.Room very clean with beautiful décor.Hotel generally was tastefully decorated.An excellent choice for breakfast and we later enjoyed an afternoon tea.Highly recommend this hotel

Reviewer:Julie Mitchell | Mon 24th Aug 2015


Best location for visiting the Historical Dockyard - Rating 5/5

Very good equipped room,excellent bed quality, breakfast very good. Parking was possible in a parking house 100 meter in the back of the hotel, 5 GBP per day with a hotel voucher. Nothing to criticise.

Reviewer:Elisabeth Koller | Sun 23rd Aug 2015


One night stay - Rating 5/5

clean and modern hotel. Central to attractions. Friendly staff. Everything we were looking for on our 1st trip to Portsmouth.

Reviewer:Anne Barrett | Fri 21st Aug 2015


Simply Perfect - Rating 4/5

Perfect welcome after an overnight flight...cozy lounge, coffee,tea? How can we see to your comfort? Our room on the top floor was just as described and shown on website. The staff wonderful, even found me a dinner well after the kitchen had closed (jet lag). Breakfast great, no skimping here! Location so close to old dock yard and an array of restaurants. Stay was great!

Reviewer:Doris Botshon | Fri 21st Aug 2015


Excellent location, good facilities - Rating 5/5

Just had a 2 night stay with family.Location excellent for Dockyard and Gunwharf Quays.Quality of rooms very good, even if shower bathrooms were small.Breakfast service slow, but holiday so acceptable.Would advise anyone to stay there for central Portsmouth.

Reviewer:Anscombe | Fri 21st Aug 2015


weekend break - Rating 4/5

lovely hotel, very central and great value. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Great breakfast.

Reviewer:Nick Bevan | Sat 15th Aug 2015


Over night stay - Rating 5/5

we had a very pleasant over night stay at this hotel. staff very friendly and helpful and the hotel was very clean and modern.would stay here again but would book a room with a sea view

Reviewer:Jo Pearson | Tue 11th Aug 2015


Mrs Roe - Rating 4/5

Excellent small hotel in a great location. Lovely bedroom

Reviewer:Dianna Roe| Tue 11th Aug 2015


Great location- Rating 4/5

What a great hotel - staff very helpful and walking distance to all tourist spots.Hotel breakfast was good choice of hot and cold and pub up road had good cheap meals for dinner.We had room at front with views of HMS Warrior.We even took bus from London to here as bus stops at The Hard just across road

Reviewer:Cheryl And Peter Knibb | Thu 6th Aug 2015


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

High quality hotel with lovely features, ideally located. Would definitely choose it again.

Reviewer:Lesley Donnithorne | Wed 5th Aug 2015


Fantastic Hotel- Rating 5/5

Beautiful Hotel, perfect location with sea views, right by the shopping centre. Very polite and accommodating staff.

Reviewer:Mrs Rachel Howard| Tue 23rd Jun 2015


Perfect - Rating 5/5

Perfect location with an amazing view stayed in room 15 worth every penny would stay again no question about it, all staff polite and helpful, breakfast also decent with a good selection and decent coffee!

Reviewer:Mr. Sam Hobden | Sun 21st Jun 2015


Great Location - Rating 4/5

Lovely Hotel would stay there again. Great Location and the staff are very nice and helpful.

Reviewer:Jacqueline Potgieter | Tue 16th Jun 2015


A delightful visit - Rating 5/5

We had a most delightful stay at the The Ship Leopard Hotel the other night - a comfortable, pleasant room and bath but, best of all, a most engaging and friendly staff. And, of course, the location is superb.

Reviewer:Mr. Jerry Schauffler | Tue 16th Jun 2015


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Great hotel, really clean rooms,comfy bed, staff great, food good, great location to all attractions

Reviewer:Tara Mchugh | Tue 16th Jun 2015


Good value boutique hotel near Naval Dockyards - Rating 4/5

Very well appointed and located.Room very comfortable.Good wifi.

Reviewer:Douglas Clark | Tue 16th Jun 2015


Home from home - Rating 4/5

Perfectly located for our weekend visit to Historic Dockyard and Gunwharf Quays.Roomsclean,comfortable and stylish.Breakfast cooked fresh to order.Staff friendly and helpful.Would not hesitate to return.

Reviewer:Janet Richardson | Mon 15th Jun 2015


Excellent hotel in great location - Rating 5/5

Stayed here for two nights in a standard king size which was very nice, comfortable and extremely clean. The staff were friendly and helpful going to extra lengths to support my gluten-free dietary requirements and helping us print off a discount voucher.Would definitely stay here again should we return to Portsmouth

Reviewer:Migaela Scorah | Tue 26th May 2015


Bank holiday stay - Rating 5/5

Greathotel in a brilliant position,will be staying again

Reviewer:Jed Sheppard | Mon 25th May 2015


great hotel - Rating 5/5

everything about the hotel was lovely,staff,room,food and a great location well worth the money will book again

Reviewer:Steven Higgins | Mon 18th May 2015


Fantastic location - Rating 5/5

Small single room but excellent fittings.So close to railway station, taxis, Gunwharf Quays and Historic Dockyard.Food excellent, staff chatty.

Reviewer:Karen Lee | Mon 18th May 2015


Lovely Hotel Great Location - Rating 5/5

We stayed for one night in the best room (15)with a view of HMS Warrior.The room was very sumptuous with a stunning bathroom and very clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great too! My only suggestion would be to provide robes in that room in particular as it would be in keeping with the standard. A magnifying mirror and a pot with cotton wool and cotton buds would be a nice extra touch. An ideal hotel for visiting the historic ships and the Gunwharf shopping centre where you can find many bars, designer shops and restaurants. A great find!

Reviewer:Carol Drapper | Sun 17th May 2015


Great hotel - Rating 5/5

Great hotel! Beautifully clean well decorated room, friendly staff, great breakfast and fabulous location

Reviewer:Kathleen Friesen | Sat 16th May 2015


Overnight Stay - Rating 5/5

A very good visit, excellent staff at check-in, breakfast and check out. Room was comfortable, very clean and and an excellent view. Great location and perfect for my visit.

Reviewer:NORMAN SMITH | Tue 12th May 2015


Enjoy this hotel..... - Rating 5/5

Friendly hotel with very helpful staff, spacious clean rooms...good value for money

Reviewer:Mrs Fitzgerald | Tue 12th May 2015


feet up in portsmouth - Rating 5/5

What a find. Located just across from the dockyard and 5 min walk from the gunwarf shopping centre.First the hotel, when I was looking for a hotel, we wanted something different than the normal hotel stay. We arrived early but the receptionist directed is to the car park, which was discounted.Next the room, 1st floor overlooking the sea, but also the bus interchange. My first thought this could be a bit noisey, however this was not the case. As the room was higher than the buses, it was quite, even the window open.The room itself was extremely comfortable with what you would expect to find in a room of this quality. The bathroom was very clean and had a bidet, which some 5 star hotels do not have. No bath, but the shower was a welcome especially after a day visiting the sites. The room was clean and presented to a high standard. Nice touch was the coffee machine and the mirrored furniture was in keeping with the rest of the hotelThe reception is located in the bar, and theis clean and decorated with number of objects which were highly amusing.The hotel also had lift which was acceptiated especially when arriving and leaving.Breakfast was good, with a wide range of options even for the fussy eater.The staff were present, friendly and welcoming, and nothing was too much of a problemWould we come back again, most differently, a small gem of a hotel that should not be overlooked.

Reviewer:Peter Whiting | Mon 13th Apr 2015


Perfect location - Rating 5/5

Perfect location for the Historic Dockyard. Lovely room, comfy and thoughtfullly decorated. Excellnt breakfast looking out at the Warrior in the harbour. Really enjoyed our stay and will come back again.

Reviewer:Jean Crow-stewart | Fri 10th Apr 2015


Great location, lovely hotel, excellent service! - Rating 5/5

Highly recommended. Located 2 mins walk from Portsmouth Harbour train, 2 mins walk from the Historic Docks, 5 mins walk from Gunwharf Quays. Lovely building and very well appointed rooms. Excellent friendly service :)

Reviewer:Mr. Mark Abbott | Tue 7th Apr 2015


Perfect Easter Weekend in the Perfect Place! - Rating 5/5

My partner and I were travelling to Portsmouth for his birthday (and Easter) as the area is special to both of us – he was born there and it\'s where I went to university. Having read some of the reviews for The Ship Leopard I booked for us to spend the night in Room 15, and I\'m so glad I did!The hotel is without doubt the best place to stay in Portsmouth. From the excellent location positioned opposite Gunwharf Quays packed with its bars, restaurants and shops, to the attentive and friendly staff, and let\'s not forget the well-equipped stunning rooms which rival that of any boutique hotel I\'ve visited previously. Our room was enormous with a comfortable super king size bed, flatscreen on the wall, large sash windows with great views, and beautiful decor. The bathroom approached through arched doors was the real highlight with a large feature freestanding bath, dual sinks and an incredible walk-in power shower. Breakfast in the morning was excellent with plenty of choice and the discounted parking is really handy too. Our stay was such a joy we immediately booked to stay an extra night! We both thank the staff for such excellent service and will definitely be booking to stay here on our next visit. Highly recommended!

Reviewer:Daisy Jeffery | Tue 7th Apr 2015


lovely - Rating 4/5

A lovely little hotel. I had the small single room which was compact but very clean and new. Ensuite was great, even having a bidet. Breakfast ok and staff friendly and attentive. I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:KATRINA WEBSTER | Fri 3rd Apr 2015


Clean Room & Fantastic View - Rating 5/5

Booked this hotel purely on its Trip Advisor reviews and so glad we did as it became the venue for our engagement. Would like to take the opportunity to thank John the Night Manager once again for his wit and charm which kept us entertained until the small hours.The Ship Leopard is ideally located if you want to be near Portsmouth Historical Dockyard, Gunwarf Keys shops and bars. We booked room 34 which has fantastic views of HMS Warrior and the Spinnaker Tower.The room was modern and spotlessly clean with a very comfortable king bed and the shower-room was clean and functional.A wonderful selection of breakfast is provided, from continental choice to a full English breakfast. The staff were polite and could not be faulted. Parking is in a multi storey car park just behind hotel which is secure overnight and charges £5 for 24 hours (with a coupon you collect from hotel reception).We very much recommend a stay here, so much better than a chain hotel! A really wonderful hotel in a fantastic location!We will definitely return!Stayed For one night on 16th March 2015

Reviewer:Ian Harwood | Sun 29th Mar 2015


Great position - Rating 5/5

This hotel was perfectly positioned for both The Historic Dockyard and Gunwharf Quays. It was very clean and comfortable with trendy furnishings. Good sized rooms and good views of the Warrior ship. Helpful staff and good breakfast.

Reviewer:Janet Offer | Sun 29th Mar 2015


weekend break- Rating 4/5

Very enjoyablestay, staff very helpfuland friendly.

Reviewer:Mr. David Campbell | Tue 24th Mar 2015


Visit to the Historic Dockyard - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed a very pleasant two night stay. The location was ideal, the accommodation was excellent, clean and well equipped. The staff were very helpful and pleasant which helped make the visit one we shall remember.

Reviewer:JOHN ELLINGFORD | Mon 23rd Mar 2015


Perfect choice - Rating 5/5

Perfect for a trip to Portsmouth. Perfect Location for Historic sites, Gun Wharf, Restaurants and shops.Room Perfect, immaculately clean, with a lovely theme decor.

Reviewer:Colleen O\\\'Shea | Sun 22nd Mar 2015


University visiting- Rating 4/5

Enjoyed our stay, small and friendly hotel in a perfect location

Reviewer:Jackie Miles | Tue 17th Mar 2015


great weekend stay - Rating 5/5

Great room fantastic breakfast

Reviewer:Christopher Moore | Tue 17th Mar 2015


Review of my stay- Rating 5/5

Charming caring staff. Wonderful refurb ..across the road amazing shopping centre and historic ships and only 10 mins to the ferry port. Perfect ...car park just around the corner with equally charming gentleman who opened early so that I could leave for the port..staggering ...thankyou.

Reviewer:Janet Scott | Wed 4th Mar 2015


5***** - Rating 5/5

An excellent stay, warm welcome, room was beautiful a very rich modern feel white room with mirrored and velvet black contrast, walk in luxury shower and a view over looking the harbour. You can only be impressed, hotel is quiet at night boats are lit up on harbour adding to the tranquillity. Well presented cooked breakfast and gentlemen on reception polite and jus fantastic- a definite recommendation. Occasion was a birthday, thank u to the team we were very impressed :) - Kk Brighton

Reviewer:Kharina Kharran | Wed 4th Mar 2015


happy - Rating 5/5

we was very happy with the room and the food it made my weekend and we will see you in the summer again

Reviewer:Sharon Scott | Mon 2nd Mar 2015


Overnight pit stop - Rating 5/5

I had the single room as i was on my own and only staying the one night,The room was big enough and well fitted out the bathroom was surprisingly big for a single bedroom and also well kitted out, All the fittings and furnishings in the room were of a high standard,The Hotel itself while being small offered everything i needed and the staff were friendly and very helpful.Overall if i was in the area again i would not hesitate to book into the Ship Leopard again.

Reviewer:Damian Brady | Tue 24th Feb 2015


Just what we needed - Rating 5/5

a lovely boutique hotel , clean , good staff , the restaurant was superb and not expensive either , we went for a large room which had a massive bath , really made for a special night away , the breakfast was very good quality , overall a brilliant place to stay and we would certainly come back .

Reviewer:Richard Braban | Sun 22nd Feb 2015


porstmouth - Rating 4/5

very happy stay, decorated lovely and clean friendly staff needs a few tweeks in the evening meal attitude but apart from that would go back.

Reviewer:June Gilmour | Mon 16th Feb 2015


Exellent hotel- Rating 5/5

As soon as we arrived we were very impressed with the standard of the hotel. The rooms are excellent and the food is beautiful. Would defiantly recommend and stay again . Was the ideal place for Valentine\'s Day and to propose to my partner. Felt very welcome through out the stay. Thanks again and see you soon

Reviewer:Ronnie Squibb | Sun 15th Feb 2015


brilliant hotel. Other than the dining area- Rating 5/5

The rooms were spotless, had a beautiful view of the hard and the staff were lovely. I wasn\'t expecting it to be as good as it was. Me and my boyfriend had a lovely stay. However I feel the food prices were a bit steep and it was a bit awkward in the dining area. Everyone\'s really close to each other and we didn\'t feel comfortable talking because it was so quiet. Other than that it\'s a brilliant hotel. I would defiantly stay there again.

Reviewer:Tanya White | Sun 15th Feb 2015


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

This is a great place to stay in Portsmouth. It has been refurbished to a high standard and is very comfortable. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful. Thoroughly recommended.

Reviewer:Bernie Crilly (Z BED) | Sat 31st Jan 2015


First Stay at The Ship Leopard - Rating 4/5

I had business in Portsmouth and my wife accompanied me.We found our bedroom to be beautifully furnished and clean;the en-suite the same.Only drawback was that if you were staying for a few days there was nowhere in the bathroom to dry towels but as we were there only 1 night it did not matter.We had breakfast and it was freshly cooked and tasty.We will stay again when next in Portsmouth.Location is wonderful - we overlooked the sea.Staff very helpful.

Reviewer:Mr Saints | Thu 29th Jan 2015


Small Gem - Rating 5/5

The Ship Leopard Hotel is a beautiful property on The Hard, Portsmouth. Exceptionally clean, up to date. Highly efficient and friendly staff. Easy walk to the main attractions of Portsmouth. Very good bistro on site. Highly recommended. The only thing lacking was a fitness room. 4.5 out of 5 (star rating not functioning.

Reviewer:Richard Blair | Mon 26th Jan 2015


One Night Stay - Rating 5/5

The hotel is well placed for a walk to the shopping centre by the Gunwharf Quays and the Spinnaker Tower. Room was very clean, comfortable and well decorated. Great breakfast and evening meal.

Reviewer:Andrew Le Page | Fri 9th Jan 2015


Fab hotel - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable bed in a nice warm room. Good location but no noise at night.

Reviewer:Jennifer Read | Tue 6th Jan 2015


Greattime - Rating 5/5

Stayed at the Ship Leopard what a wondeful Hotel very clean very good facilities and in a excellent position. Staff were very friendly and helpful. would most definately stay there again.

Reviewer:Denise Horne | Fri 2nd Jan 2015


5 star - Rating 5/5

Outstanding! Had to leave at 5:30 am but they still took the trouble to send me on my way with a bacon and egg toastie.Could not recommend highly enough and will definitely use again, Many thanks

Reviewer:Mr. Dave Betts | Thu 1st Jan 2015


One night stay - Rating 5/5

Didn\'t know what to expect, but did look at websites and read comments. Very clean. Pleasant staff. Parking at the rear of the hotel in secure multi story, but is locked between 8pm & 8 am! Only cost £5 for 24hrs. Remember to ask receptionist for parking pass when you leave the hotel. Room 12 was on the 1st floor facing the Gosport Ferry Terminal. Bit noisy but not intrusive. I had the small full English breakfast and it was very good. All in all, a nice experience and would stay again. Price maybe a bit high though for some.

Reviewer:Ron Soutter | Sat 13th Dec 2014


salsa stayover - Rating 5/5

Fantastic hotel! The room had a luxurious feel, with everything that I needed. Very beautiful!! I did not have the opportunity to visit the restaurant as I arrived late and had to be off early the following morning, but given the standard of the room, I am sure there would be nothing to complain about. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Reviewer:Sue-ling Thornton | Sat 13th Dec 2014


Overnighter In Portsmouth - Rating 5/5

We arranged a visit to Portsmouth to visit our daughter and decided to book a one night stay at \'the ship leopard\'what a treat- lovely warm room and all newly refurbished. Really comfortable bedexcellent nights sleep. Breakfast hot and really tasty to set us up for a tour on HMS victory which is literally just yards away. Along with gun wharf with many shops so a perfect location in a very welcoming and comfortable hotel

Reviewer:Megan Jordan | Wed 10th Dec 2014


Room 15!!! Loved it :)) - Rating 5/5

Was very impressed with the gorgeous room and huge bathroom!! Breakfast was lovely and the staff were very friendly ! Great view of the HMS Warrior complete with Christmas tree! 5 min walk to Gunwharf Keys!!A lovely stay!!

Reviewer:Jane Dawson | Fri 5th Dec 2014


Great Hotel - Rating 5/5

I booked at the last minute and reserved what was described as a \'compact double room\' and it was! That said, it was perfectly adequate for 1 night and it was spotlessly clean and the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was good and the location was ideal for those who want to explore historic Portsmouth.

Reviewer:Robert Hester | Thu 4th Dec 2014


Great Location - Rating 4/5

Average hotel with a great location just minutes from the royal Historic Dockyard.Staff was young and enthusiastic - very helpful.Bit noisy since you are on a main street but again for the location it is hard to beat.

Reviewer:Lawrence Lentz | Mon 1st Dec 2014


Brief Stay - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable and pleasant room. V tasty breakfast (full English).Good view of HMS Warrior from the room!

Reviewer:Charles Price | Mon 1st Dec 2014


Excellent - Rating 4/5

Could not fault this place at all ..although very small & no separate private lounge , we were out a lot of the time anyway.. .. food fantastic, room very clean & staff very friendly.. To top off an excellent location . I would definately return

Reviewer:Michelle Egleton | Mon 1st Dec 2014


Stay at hotel 25-27 November 2014 - Rating 4/5

A delightful place to stay in every sense of the word;willing and helpful staff made it very pleasant and though at times things were slightly amateurish this was vastly compensated for by the outstanding pleasantness of the staff. We will stay again.

Reviewer:john and margret | Fri 28th Nov 2014


Overnight in Portsmouth - Rating 5/5

Staff were really friendly & helpful;the hotel pristine & comfortable, beautifully designed & re-furbished.Breakfast was the classic full English, nicely cooked & my gluten-free needs accommodated with no problem.Very smart coffee machine;kettle was available, but one in the room would have been appreciated.I would recommend this to friends, although it is a little above average pricewise.Location is extremely convenient, as is the multi-storey car park, at £5.00 for 24 hours with a voucher from the hotel.

Reviewer:Patricia Hopkins | Mon 24th Nov 2014


Wonderful boutique hotel- Rating 5/5

Would certainly stay at this beautiful boutique hotel again. Just love Portsmouth!

Reviewer:Pierson | Wed 24th Sep 2014


Ship Leopard Review - Rating 5/5

Wonderful new boutique hotel with lovely decor, friendly staff and very secure atmosphere. The breakfast was very complete with made to order servings. Thank you for a great stay.

Reviewer:Jennifer Thompson | Mon 22nd Sep 2014


Super Ship Leopard - Rating 4/5

Excellent stay at The Ship Leopard! Clean rooms, friendly Staff, right next to Historic Dockyard, perfect for our weekend in Portsmouth.

Reviewer:Virginia Lawrence | Sun 21st Sep 2014


Excellent- Rating 5/5

The Ship Leopard Hotel is nice, elegant and most importantly very clean. The breakfast is fantastic and the staff are helpful. We stayed in room 33 so we had a window overlooking the harbour too. Great place, we highly recommend it.

Reviewer:Stephen Aquilina | Fri 19th Sep 2014


great break - Rating 5/5

lovely hotel - staff were really friendly and service was really good.situation could not have been better for us right by the ships and museum.

Reviewer:Michele Negus | Tue 16th Sep 2014


overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel with excellent staff

Reviewer:Mrs. Sue Grainger | Tue 16th Sep 2014


An excellent hotel - Rating 5/5

I would highly recommend this hotel.The rooms were very comfortable and spotlessly clean.The service from the reception staff was also excellent, as was the breakfast.

Reviewer:Mandy Webber | Mon 15th Sep 2014


Aug 2014 stay - Rating 5/5

Fantastic and spotless room, as described with great views. All staff very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast which is included in the price. Would visit again.

Reviewer:Stacy Badham | Sat 30th Aug 2014


The Ship Leopard - Rating 5/5

Myself and husband booked room 24 for our 10th wedding anniversary. We had a wonderful stay,the room and view was amazing - very romantic! We would definately go again. The only small criticism I can make is it was a shame we couldn't have an evening meal at the hotel as part of our romantic stay but it didn't spoil anything.

Reviewer:Jody Lilley | Fri 29th Aug 2014


Fantastic hotel in a brilliant location- Rating 5/5

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff are friendly and knowledgable, the breakfast was plentiful and of brilliant quality and the furnishings and rooms were excellent. We will definitely be staying here again upon returning to Portsmouth.

Reviewer:Caroline Sannegadu | Fri 29th Aug 2014


Don't look anywhere else! - Rating 5/5

This is simply perfect in every way.Location is very close to station and the underground tunnel to Gunwarf keys shops.Very clean and modern.A great deal of care and attention has gone into this hotel to make the guest comfortable and welcome.Staff are very friendly and attentive.Breakfast is excellent with a wide choice.Don't look anywhere else, you will not be disappointed!

Reviewer:Elizabeth Johns | Thu 28th Aug 2014


My first trip to the Ship Leopard - Rating 5/5

New boutique hotel with great and clean décor everything well designed and well presented. Could be argued a bit pricy but I am unfamiliar with prices in this area. Breakfast cooked individually and good quality. Did not like the coffee machine in the room as difficult to use and just overflowed into a mess on my dressing table

Reviewer:Geoffrey Bradshaw | Thu 21st Aug 2014


Good stay - Rating 4/5

Lovely, clean hotel with really friendly staff. The room was a bit on the small side for the price, but otherwise we enjoyed our stay. Fantastic breakfast too.

Reviewer:Amy Casey | Thu 21st Aug 2014


great service! - Rating 5/5

I stayed at The Ship Leonard whilst on the way to France. Great, helpful staff, lovely rooms and a fantastic location for excellent restaurants. I would thoroughly recommend!

Reviewer:Richard Berry | Mon 18th Aug 2014


Great place to stay - Rating 4/5

We really thought this place was extremely nice and we stayed in 11 different places on our 3 week trip to the UK, so do have some comparison points. First let me say the staff here is great! Everyone was helpful and pleasant, especially Neil (I hope I have his name right). The place is decorated beautifully. This is reflected in the lobby/cafe and in the rooms.It goes without saying that it was neat and clean. I wouldn't give a good review to any hotel that was not. The location was was excellent-right by the maritime sights we wanted to see with the Gunwharf Quays shopping area also near with plenty of restaurants to chose from. Our room was very nice with enough room to make us feel comfortable when we needed a little relaxing time during our travels. (We had other rooms that you just couldn't feel comfortable in because they were too small.) I do have one minor complaint.The bathroom in our room (#11) needed more shelfs! There was no place to put your shampoo and soap in the shower and no place to put toothpaste, cosmetics, brush etc. near the sink. That small addition would improve the room so much.All in all we liked this place very much and would stay again. I would give it 5 stars if it wasn't for the shelving problem.Cyd Savage

Reviewer:Mr. Warren Savage | Mon 11th Aug 2014


Ship Leopard - Rating 5/5

As on my previous visit, this little boutique hotel didn't disappoint. I had a lovely room, the staff were friendly and helpful, it is a very relaxing place to stay. I will certainly be back.

Reviewer:Sarah Pearson | Fri 8th Aug 2014


Dot - Rating 4/5

In a wonderful location-To overlook both HMS Warriorand spinnaker tower was wonderful. The staff were really pleasant and helpful-Kindly offering to look after our bikes in the basement. The room was beautifully equipped though a little snug. Nice toiletries. It was a shame the restaurant/cafe did not stay open later in the evening. Good coffee and breakfast from the menu. Though orange juice croissants and pastries tired. Will visit again.

Reviewer:Dorothy Lister | Sun 3rd Aug 2014


Excellent hotel & staff - Rating 5/5

We had an excellent stay, beautiful room , friendly helpful staff, really great full English breakfast. Good parking arrangements and great central location to walk to Gun Wharf and the dockyard, highly recommended

Reviewer:Christiane Alexander | Sun 3rd Aug 2014


A mid week stay - Rating 5/5

A very friendly and comfortable place to stay and so handy for the Mary Rose Museum. We appreciated having the fan when it was so hot. We would certainly go again.

Reviewer:Wendy Parke | Mon 28th Jul 2014


Ship Leopard - Rating 5/5

I was very impressed with this hotel. I am a single mum with a one year old and I was made very welcome. The room was clean, well decorated and fitted out. A cot was provided. The bathroom was lovely. The breakfast was delicious and the staff went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Sarah Pierceson | Thu 24th Jul 2014


Very good- Rating 5/5

Salubrious room 15, everything thought of, absolute attention to detail in decor,a joining semi-wet room to die for, fantastic facilities and a bath big enough to take for a spin in the harbour!! Breakfast high quality and clean. Staff exceptionally well groomed, excellent manners and customer service, they looked the part in their uniforms and they were extremely clean. After a hot weekend they worked exceptionally well. Well done Ship Leopard, we will be back. Only criticism, big TV hanging on wall looks great but you cannot hear it that well because the speakers are on the back of the TV,- I recommend separate speakers or sound bar. This is the smartest building along this road by far,- it sets the standards for other hotels to follow

Reviewer:Mark Lawson | Sun 20th Jul 2014


Very good stay - Rating 5/5

Salubrious room 15, everything thought of, absolute attention to detail in decor,a joining semi-wet room to die for, fantastic facilities and a bath big enough to take for a spin in the harbour!! Breakfast high quality and clean. Staff exceptionally well groomed, excellent manners and customer service, they looked the part in their uniforms and they were extremely clean. After a hot weekend they worked exceptionally well. Well done Ship Leopard, we will be back. Only criticism, big TV hanging on wall looks great but you cannot hear it that well because the speakers are on the back of the TV,- I recommend separate speakers or sound bar. This is the smartest building along this road by far,- it sets the standards for other hotels to follow

Reviewer:Mark Lawson | Sun 20th Jul 2014


Great Value. - Rating 5/5

Fantastic new hotel.Has been finished to a high standard . Breakfast was 1st class very good quality ingredients.One very small suggestion. A shower Cap for when a quick shower is required.Good Luck for the future.

Reviewer:Janet Whipp | Sat 12th Jul 2014


ship leopard - Rating 4/5

Very nice food, stylish decor & great location, but air conditioning and a fridge in the room would have made our stay more comfortable.

Reviewer:Mr Micheal Barnes | Wed 9th Jul 2014


Great hotel - Rating 4/5

We were very impressed with the view of HMS Warrior from our first floor room.Unfortunately the location also meant we were kept awake most of the night by noisy and rowdy groups who frequent The Hard on a Saturday night.The window only opened a few inches (for security, I suppose) and I would have closed it if there had been a fan in the room.The room was exceedingly clean, but a previous guest had left a dirty shirt in the wardrobe.I would also have liked to have some hooks on the back of the bathroom door to hang a robe or towel.And either a longer cord on the hair dryer, or an outlet closer to one of the mirrors in the room.The pod coffee machine was a welcome extra, but the only choice was cappuccino that tasted like it had artificial sweetener in the milk pod.Breakfast was lovely, and we could chose anything from the menu as it was included in our room rate.Overall, this was a great, new hotel and we would probably stay again, but in a different room.

Response

Dear Mrs HawkinsThank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at our hotel. I am sorry that you were disturbed by some rowdy passers by, but due to our close proximity to the local attractions and thepubs and eateries onThe Hard and GunwharfQuays, the area does attract a large footfall in the evenings.I have reprimanded our cleaners for leaving another customers laundry in the room and sincerely apologise for it. i have also taken on board your comments regarding robe /towel hooks and these have now been fitted to all of the rooms. I willalso ask our electricians if they are able to fit longer cords to the hairdryer. We do have other choices available for the coffee machine, which we will make sure are available to you if you shouldchoose to stay with us again but have found that most customers prefer the cappuccino. Unfortunately the milk pods are the ones that are supplied to fit the machine. However if you request a coffee from our cafe we will bring it to your room. Rooms 21 and 31 are very nice rooms at the rear of the building and would be quieter rooms on a weekend but do not have sea views. If i can be of any further assistance to you then please do not hesitate to contact me. Kind regards, Christopher Briar. ( Director )

Reviewer:Mrs. Jill Hawkins | Mon 30th Jun 2014


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Stay here was superb. Friendly staff, great location perfect and decor/ambience faultless. Well done all and I will be returning.

Response

Thank you for your very kind comments. I will pass them on to our staff. We look forward to you staying with us again. Kind Regards.Christopher Briar( Director )

Reviewer:Kim Hewett | Mon 30th Jun 2014


super friendly staff - Rating 5/5

Will definitely be visiting again. The staff were more than happy to cater to my every need.

Response

Thank you for your very kind comments. i will pass them on to our staff and look forward to you staying with us again.Kind regards. Christopher Briar. ( Director )

Reviewer:Harte | Fri 27th Jun 2014


- Rating 5/5

Reviewer:| Wed 30th Nov -0001


- Rating 5/5

Reviewer:| Wed 30th Nov -0001


Book Online

Our Facilities

  • Disabled
  • Credit Card
  • Parking Facilities
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • City Centre
  • Ironing Service
  • Bridal Suite
  • Wifi
  • Jacuzzi
  • Gay Friendly
  • Luxury
  • Vegetarian
  • City Breaks
  • Romantic Breaks
  • Walking Holidays